Board of Directors

Ocean Networks Canada is guided by a board of directors made up of respected leaders from industry, Canadian and US universities, and provincial and federal governments. Board members bring an impressive breadth of knowledge and experience to their role, which is to govern and manage both the national research facility and its commercialization wing, the Ocean Networks Canada Innovation Centre.

Board Members

Darcy Dobell
Chair, Board of Directors
Founder and Principal Consultant, The Wabe




Rebecca Denlinger
Vice Chair, Board of Directors
Chair, Governance and Human Resources Committee




Dr. Mark Abrahams
Dean of Science & Professor - Department of Biology / Ocean Sciences Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada




Merle Alexander
University of Victoria





Randy Bundus
Business Consultant - R.J. Bundus Consulting





Jim Ghadbane
President & CEO - CANARIE





Gayle Gorrill
Vice-President Finance & Operations, University of Victoria





Ismail Hameduddin
Nexus Law Group





Lisa Kalynchuk
Vice-President of Research, University of Victoria





Susan Kennedy
Chair, Finance and Audit Committee
Vice President, Corporate Services, C-CORE Inc




Don Krusel
Former President and CEO, Prince Rupert Port Authority






Kate Moran
President & CEO, Ocean Networks Canada





Lyne Morissette
President & CEO, M - Expertise Marine





Alan Winter
Chair, Strategy & Partnerships Committee
President, Winteck Consulting Inc.





Fabian Wolk
​President, Rockland Scientific Inc.

Board Liaisons

John Farrell
Executive Director, US Arctic Research Commission





Kevin Jardine
Deputy Minister of Environment and Climate Change Strategy





Geoffrey Munro
Owner, Trestle Networks Inc.





International Science Advisory Board

Ocean Networks Canada has added further to its international strength and links by the appointment of a twelve-member International Science Advisory Board made up of highly respected senior ocean scientists drawn from the United States, the UK, Japan, Australia, China and Canada. The Board met for the first time in June 2011 and meets twice a year. The Board's mandate is to provide strategic advice and guidance to help ensure that Ocean Networks Canada achieves its research vision, mission and goals in the context of international developments in ocean research.

International Science Advisory Board Members

  • Philippe Archambault, Professor, Laval University
  • Jack Barth, Executive Director, Marine Studies Initiative, Oregon State University
  • Antje Boetius, Director, Biosciences/Deep sea Ecology and Technology, Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Germany
  • Mathilde Cannat, Globe de Paris Institute of Physics
  • Kendra Daly, Professor, Biological Oceanography, University of South Florida
  • Steven D’Hondt, Graduate School of Oceanography, University of Rhode Island  
  • Paolo Favali, Research Director, Instituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia (INGV)
  • Jacqueline Grebmeier, Research Professor, University of Maryland Centre for Environmental Science
  • Emilio Mayorga, Oceanographer and Data Manager, Applied Physics Laboratory, University of Washington
  • Marit Reigstag, Professor in Marine Ecology, UiT The Arctic University of Norway
  • Henry Ruhl, Board Chair, Associate Head, Ocean Biogeochemistry & Ecosystems, National Oceanography Centre, UK
  • Masanao Shinohara, Center for Geophysical Observation and Instrumentation Earthquake Research Institute, University of Tokyo
  • John Trowbridge, Senior Scientist, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
  • Frank Vernon, Research Geophysicist, Institute of Geophysics and Planetary Physics, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, UC San Diego
  • Huaiyang Zhou, Professor, School of Ocean and Earth Science, Tongji University